Simulated marriages (or simulated legal cohabitations) are those which do not aim to create a lasting community of life but only to obtain a right of residence.

 

In the case of "white marriage", the two partners commit the crime in all lucidity, while in that of "gray marriage", one of the two is the perpetrator and the other the victim, it is a scam of feelings.

 

Finally, forced marriage is where a young girl is married against her will, under threat or with the aid of violence.

 

Few lawyers practice this matter and, asked to end such an unhappy union, lawyers will direct their clients to divorce proceedings. Mistake ! It is towards a procedure for annulment of marriage that it is advisable to orient oneself, which certainly requires more work, more preparation in the collection of evidence, but can lead to what this marriage never existed, even when children are born from this "union" ("baby-papers").

 

What to do for the one who realizes that he is the victim of a gray marriage?

 

 

1. The police complaint

 

The first thing is to file a complaint with the police. This can be done alone, without the intervention of your lawyer. However, Me Decortis can already provide you with the following "extras" at this stage:

  • Drafting of the complaint: collaboration is essential between Me Decortis and you because only you know the details of the behavior of the other which put you “on the alert”. Me Decortis will be able to help you see more clearly, to gather the evidence which could be decisive in the rest of the procedure, she will then write a precise and structured text which will allow the investigation to launch.

  • Specialized services: certain police zones have brigades specializing in gray marriage… As much as knocking directly on the right door!

  • Link with the Immigration Office: this must be done at the same time as filing the complaint. Not to be neglected so that sentimental scammers do not slip through the cracks!

 

From the start of the investigation, collaboration between the municipality, the police, the Aliens Office and the victim should be established.

 

 

2. Annulment of marriage

 

The second step is to cite the crook husband in annulment of marriage before the Civil Court.

 

Here, the intervention of the lawyer is essential, to draft the summons, to appear before the territorially competent court, to settle questions of private international law that may arise, etc. Me Decortis is specialized in this field.

 

The problem of gray marriages often comes up against the difficulty of proof. Keep all text messages, emails, recordings that could confirm your spouse's cheating, etc. A bailiff will be able to note this evidence in a report.

 

 

3. Criminal proceedings

Gray marriages (as well as white marriages) constitute an offense under criminal law! Even if this path is generally unknown and very little used, it does exist. Sentimental scammers were thus punished.

 

It is therefore possible to file a civil action in the hands of an examining magistrate against the one who abused your feelings. At the very least, such a condemnation will prevent further victims!

Les mariages simulés (ou cohabitations légales simulées) sont ceux qui ne visent pas à créer une communauté de vie durable mais uniquement à obtenir un droit de séjour.

 

Dans le cas du « mariage blanc », les deux partenaires commettent le délit en toute lucidité alors que dans celui du « mariage gris », l’un des deux est l’auteur et l’autre la victime, il s'agit d'une arnaque aux sentiments.

 

Enfin, le mariage forcé est celui où une jeune fille est mariée contre son gré, sous la menace ou à l’aide de violence.

 

Peu d’avocats pratiquent cette matière et, sollicités en vue de mettre fin à une si peu heureuse union, les avocats vont diriger leurs clients vers une procédure de divorce. Erreur ! C’est vers une procédure en annulation de mariage qu’il convient de s'orienter, laquelle demande certes plus de travail, plus de préparation dans la récolte de preuves, mais peut aboutir à ce que ce mariage n'ait jamais existé, même lorsque des enfants sont nés de cette « union » (« bébés-papiers »).

 

Que faire pour celui ou celle qui se rend compte qu’il est victime d’un mariage gris ?

 

 

1. La plainte à la police

 

La première chose est de déposer plainte à la police.  Ceci peut  se faire en solo, sans l’intervention de votre avocat. Cependant, Me Decortis peut déjà vous apporter les "plus" suivants à ce stade :

  • Rédaction de la plainte : une collaboration est indispensable entre Me Decortis et vous car vous seul(e) connaissez les détails du comportement de l’autre qui vous ont mis « la puce à l’oreille ». Me Decortis pourra vous aider à y voir plus clair, à rassembler les preuves qui pourront être décisives dans toute la suite de la procédure, elle rédigera ensuite un texte précis et structuré qui permettra à l’enquête de se lancer.

  • Les services spécialisés : certaines zones de police ont des brigades spécialisées en mariage gris… Autant frapper directement à la bonne porte !

  • Lien avec l’Office des Etrangers : cette démarche doit être faite parallèlement au dépôt de la plainte. A ne surtout pas négliger pour que les escrocs aux sentiments ne passent pas entre les mailles du filet !

 

Il convient d’instaurer dès le commencement de l’enquête une collaboration entre la commune, les services de police, l’Office des Etrangers et la victime.

 

 

2. L'annulation de mariage

 

La deuxième démarche consiste à citer l’époux escroc en annulation de mariage devant le Tribunal civil.

 

Ici, l’intervention de l’avocat est indispensable, pour rédiger la citation, citer devant le Tribunal territorialement compétent, régler les questions de droit international privé qui peuvent se poser etc. Me Decortis s’est spécialisée dans ce domaine.

 

La problématique des mariages gris se heurte souvent à la difficulté de la preuve. Conservez tous sms, emails, enregistrements qui pourraient confirmer la tromperie de votre conjoint etc. Un huissier de justice pourra constater ces preuves dans un procès-verbal.

 

 

3. La procédure pénale

Les mariages gris (ainsi que les mariages blancs) constituent un délit en droit pénal ! Même si cette voie est généralement méconnue et très peu usitée, elle existe. Des escrocs aux sentiments ont ainsi été sanctionnés.

 

Il est donc possible de se constituer partie civile entre les mains d'un juge d'instruction contre celui ou celle qui a abusé de vos sentiments. A tout le moins, une telle condamnation empêchera de faire de nouvelles victimes !

 
 

Suivez nous sur facebook

  • Facebook Social Icône