SALDUZ LAW

Among other things, the Salduz law regulates 'hearing' during criminal proceedings. This hearing concerns the search, investigation or follow-up (in criminal proceedings) following a breach of the regulations. The rights a person enjoys in the event of a hearing depend on their status in the context of this hearing: for the person who is suspected or arrested, other rules than for the person who is 'simply' interviewed apply. But beware: all information obtained by the police, the inspectorate or the prosecution does not fall under the notion of 'hearing'.

 

 

1. Ground rules at the start of each hearing

 

When interviewing people, regardless of the quality at which they are questioned (suspects, victims, witnesses and declarants), the people in charge of the interview must at least respect the rules below.

Each audition begins as follows:

 

• brief communication of the facts about which the person will be interviewed

• the communication given to the interviewee that:

  • he/she can ask that all the questions put to him/her and the answers he/she gives, be recorded in the terms used

  • he/she can request that an act of information be carried out (e.g. identity check, searches, etc.) or a specific hearing

  • his/her statements can be used as evidence in court

  • he/she cannot be forced to accuse himself/herself

All these elements are recorded with precision in the minutes of the hearing. Anyone questioned may use the documents in their possession, without this being able to result in the examination being postponed. It may, during the examination or subsequently, require that these documents be attached to the minutes of the hearing or filed with the registry. The minutes must also mention the hours of the hearing and the intervention of the persons during the hearing, the particular circumstances and anything that may shed light on the declaration of a particular day.

The interviewee can finally reread and correct the report. For people speaking another language, an interpreter is used.

 

 

2. Additional rules for hearing a suspect who has not been deprived of liberty

 

A 'suspect' is a person to whom offenses can be attributed. In addition to the basic rules that apply at the start of any hearing, a brief statement of the facts is given before the start of any hearing and he/she is informed that he/she has the right not to accuse him/herself and that he/she has the choice, after having stated his/her identity, to make a statement, to answer the questions put to him/her or to remain silent.

In addition, before the start of the first hearing, the suspect also receives a written declaration of his/her rights.

 

If the suspect is interviewed on facts which may lead to an arrest (these are facts which can be punished with imprisonment of 1 year or more), with the exception of facts relating to trafficking, the suspect (only) has the right before the first hearing to a confidential consultation with a lawyer of his/her choice.

The suspect receives this right because he/she was in a precarious situation during the first hearing, since it is the first time that he/she has come into contact with the police and judicial authorities. During subsequent hearings, the police must not grant a consultation before each new hearing : it is up to the person concerned to make regular contact with his/her lawyer.

As breaches of the regulations on welfare with a consequent accident at work can be punished with a maximum imprisonment of three years, a suspect is therefore entitled, for such offenses, to a confidential consultation with his/her lawyer before the first hearing.

3. Additional rules in case of hearing a 'suspect' who has been deprived of his/her liberty

In addition to the rights mentioned in points 1 and 2, an arrested person has the right to medical assistance before the start of the first hearing and has the right to inform a trusted person.

 

At each hearing, he/she is entitled to assistance by a lawyer or to confidential consultation.

La loi Salduz règle entre autres 'l'audition' durant la procédure pénale. Cette audition porte sur la recherche, l'enquête ou le suivi (dans une procédure pénale) suite à une infraction à la règlementation. Les droits dont une personne bénéficie en cas d'audition dépendent de son statut dans le cadre de cette audition  : pour la personne qui est suspecte ou arrêtée, d'autres règles que pour la personne qui est 'simplement' auditionnée sont d'application. Mais attention: toutes les informations obtenues par la police, l'inspection ou le parquet ne relèvent pas de la notion d''audition'.

 

 

1. Règles de base au début de chaque audition

 

Lors de l'audition de personnes, quelle que soit la qualité à laquelle elles sont interrogées (suspects, victimes, témoins et déclarants), les personnes chargées de l'audition doivent respecter au minimum les règles ci-dessous.

Chaque audition débute comme suit :

 

• communication succincte des faits à propos desquels la personne sera interrogée

• la communication donnée à la personne interrogée selon laquelle :

  • elle peut demander que toutes les questions qui lui sont posées et les réponses qu'elle donne, soient actées dans les termes utilisés

  • elle peut demander qu'il soit procédé à un acte d'information (p.ex. contrôle d'identité, fouilles, etc.) ou à une audition déterminée

  • ses déclarations peuvent êtres utilisées comme preuve en justice

  • elle ne peut être contrainte de s'accuser elle-même

Tous ces éléments sont consignés avec précision dans le procès-verbal d'audition. Toute personne interrogée peut utiliser les documents en sa possession, sans que cela puisse entraîner le report de l'interrogatoire. Elle peut, lors de l'interrogatoire ou ultérieurement, exiger que ces documents soient joints au procès-verbal d'audition ou déposés au greffe. Le procès-verbal doit également mentionner les heures de l'audition et de l'intervention des personnes durant l'audition, les circonstances particulières et tout ce qui peut éclairer la déclaration d'un jour particulier.

La personne interrogée peut enfin relire et corriger le procès-verbal. Pour des personnes s'exprimant dans une autre langue, il est fait appel à un interprète.

 

 

2. Règles complémentaires d'audition d'un suspect qui n'a pas été privé de la liberté

 

Un ‘suspect’ est une personne à qui des délits peuvent être imputés. Outre les règles de base qui valent au début de toute audition, une brève communication des faits est donnée avant le début de toute audition et il est informé qu'il a le droit de ne pas s'accuser lui-même et qu'il a le choix, après avoir décliné son identité, de faire une déclaration, de répondre aux questions qui lui sont posées ou de se taire.

De plus, avant le début de la première audition, le suspect reçoit également une déclaration écrite de ses droits.

Si le suspect est auditionné sur des faits qui peuvent donner lieu à une arrestation (il s'agit de faits qui peuvent être sanctionnés d'un emprisonnement de 1 an ou plus), à l'exception de faits en matière de trafic, le suspect (uniquement) a droit avant la première audition à une concertation confidentielle avec un avocat au choix ou un avocat qui lui a été assigné.

Le suspect reçoit ce droit parce qu'il se trouvait dans une situation précaire lors de la première audition puisque c’est la première fois qu’il entre en contact avec les autorités policières et judiciaires. Lors d'auditions subséquentes, la police ne doit pas accorder de consultation avant chaque nouvelle audition9: il appartient à l'intéressé de prendre régulièrement contact avec son avocat.

Comme des infractions à la réglementation sur le bien-être avec un accident du travail pour conséquence peuvent être sanctionnées d'un emprisonnement maximum de trois ans, un suspect a donc droit, pour de telles infractions, à une concertation confidentielle avec son avocat avant la première audience.

3. Règles complémentaires en cas d'audition d'un 'suspect' qui a été privé de sa liberté

Outre les droits mentionnées aux points 1 et 2, une personne arrêtée a droit à l'assistance médicale avant le début de la première audition et a le droit d'informer une personne de confiance.

 

Lors de chaque audition, elle a droit à une assistance par un avocat ou à une concertation confidentielle

LOI SALDUZ

Suivez nous sur facebook

  • Facebook Social Icône